Reflection: 1/11/2015 |Mommy Materials

Reflection 1.11.15

 

Baby A was still napping and as I did chores around the house a documentary special played on the tiny television in the kitchen.  It was about the growing population in India and the ripple effect on families there.  While I listened about a boy who married at 10 and became a father at 13 I stepped into our laundry room and moved my mattress pad and fitted sheet from the washing machine to the dryer.  As he continued that the marriage was arranged and he didn’t even know what marriage was, I filled the washing machine with my flat sheet, pillow cases (all five of them from our bed), and my light quilt.

I walked back into my oversized kitchen with a breakfast nook that we seldom utilize and picked up a cinnamon roll left over from my husbands late morning snack.  As he explained his 14 hour work days I stood at the sink with my hands in a hot, soapy sink of clean water scrubbing up sippy cups, bottles, little spoons, and brightly colored bowls.  I placed then into our sterilizer as I finished rinsing them and popped it in the microwave.

In our sunroom, next to the kitchen, I opened a fresh fleece throw and placed it in our dogs kennel.  Tomorrow one of our three dogs will have her second knee surgery and the kennel has been freshly washed with a plush cushion under the throw   The television continued of the farming limitations, shortages of food, growing landfill problems and the abrupt end to most education that often comes along with marriage.

I walk back to the kitchen wondering how much more time I have before Baby A wakes from her nap.  Could I pay a few bills?  Could I Do a little blogging?  Should I pump a little breastmilk?  Instead I decided to stop and be thankful for the blessings I have.  Becoming a mom has made me so much more aware of how lucky I am.  Sure my parents worked hard, my husband works hard, I work hard, but what that means in my life and what that means around the world can be far different things.

When I heard Baby A stirring I went to her and changed her into a fresh diaper.  We read books and played with a puzzle before we went down stairs for lunch.  I often worry about protecting her from the temptations in the world, the paths more dangerous or difficult to follow.  Today I appreciate all that she will know and also that there is so much she will not.

About mommymaterials

Wife, Mom, Blogger and everything in between!
This entry was posted in Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Reflection: 1/11/2015 |Mommy Materials

  1. andthreetogo says:

    Well said! Sometimes a documentary or traveling into poorer parts of the world or even just taking a good look at ones life can give a revelation of how much one truly is blessed. 🙂 Thank you for the reminder!

  2. I know this feeling all too well. Every moment is precious and something to be thankful for. It’s so easy to get caught up in the hustle and bustle of your routine. It’s nice to give yourself that time to step back and let it all soak in!

  3. Jamie says:

    It is so funny how our perspective changes when we become moms!

  4. triciathegoodmama says:

    Yes, it’s so important to take the time to stop and be grateful for everything you have. Sometimes we are always rushing around and we don’t realize how much we truly have to be thankful for. What was the documentary that you were watching?

  5. It’s amazing the perspective we can get from seeing how people in other parts of the world live every day.

  6. This is seriously beautiful writing. We are truly blessed, and isn’t it funny how as mothers we try so hard to protect our children from bad things? Beautiful post!

Leave a Reply

